top of page

Goddess Space A Journey of reclamation of and dialogue with public space

After a visit to Thailand, I experienced an existential crisis of meaning. Interactions with public spaces made me question what contribution I could make to Melbourne’s urban spaces to turn them into meaningful places. I felt disenfranchised as a woman and citizen. By using artwork, my intention was to address these concerns in a therapeutic and visual way and invite social engagement.

By using subversive art practice, reinventing the doll, this project animates and creates dialogue with public space. Doll making and paste ups referencing works from the Skyelab project combine with references to historical uses of dolls as effigies and therapeutic objects. The form of Venus of Willendorf informs the shape of the dolls and expresses my perception of physical female beauty. An online gallery of handmade objects and artworks placed in Melbourne narrates the story of the dolls in public space and the continuing journey of finding my place in the public art field through practice led research.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page